• Feeling Seen
  • Posts
  • I can't believe this is happening (Email #1)

I can't believe this is happening (Email #1)

"I can’t believe this is happening!"

Logo

“I can’t believe this is really happening.”

I can’t believe this is really happening.

I’ll never forget the first time I spoke those powerful 7 words. (One of the first times I needed a "Feeling Seen" community.)

I was 18 years old and dating a girl I really liked.

But when we tried to have sex, something wouldn't work. (That "something" was me.)

I was struck with performance anxiety and was not able to get an erection. (I had heard of performance anxiety, of course, but I really didn’t understand it and never thought it would happen to me!)

Instead of witnessing my girlfriend’s pleasure, I remember the sad look on her face as she imagined she was at fault...worried she wasn't good enough to turn me on.

This is not how I imagined sex would feel.

This is not what my friends had told me about.

This is not what sex looked like on TV.

And then came those dreaded 7-words that would change the course of my life.

“I can’t believe this is really happening.”

After that experience, I was embarrassed, ashamed, and traumatized. I was too scared to speak up and ask for help for fear of being laughed at. Even worse, I worried that something was really wrong with me. What if I was broken or dysfunctional? What if I couldn't find a real connection, please my girlfriend, or ever experience pleasure myself

The shame and fear made it hard for me to connect with others. I didn’t feel seen. UNTIL NOW.

Hey Feeling Seen Fam,

I know not everyone has experienced performance anxiety like me. But everyone (yes, everyone you know) has experienced something behind closed doors that they were too afraid to talk about:

  • Something frustrating

  • Something embarrassing

  • Something confusing

  • Something strange

  • Something hilarious

  • Maybe even something kinky and daring…

And I know you have, too. That’s why you’re here.

(Shoot, that’s why I’m here!)

To make sex easier to talk about.

Feeling Seen is not my platform. It’s our platform.

Which means, this is not my newsletter, it’s your newsletter.

We’re not trying to tie you up (unless you like that sort of thing, of course), we’re just here to spice up your day with the stuff everyone wants to talk about and nobody actually does.

But remember, a newsletter is just an email. Emails go both ways.

Don’t be afraid to hit reply. Say hi (we’ll say hi back). Share your most intimate thoughts, swap ideas, experiences, and solutions, and ask the questions you’re too afraid to ask anywhere else…

That’s what this space is for: to ditch the shame, talk openly, become more informed and educated about our sexual well-being, form more powerful connections, and explore the feeling of being seen.

We’ll be serving up the perfect mix of the important things you need to know and the spicy things you really came for. *wink* 😉

But first, let’s start by reclaiming those 7 powerful words together as we officially launch the Feeling Seen newsletter.

Say it with me: “I can’t believe this is really happening!!!”

Each week, our experts will answer your secret sex, love, and relationship questions. Hit reply and tell us what’s on your mind. Nothing is off-limits!

(And don’t worry…we’ll keep your identity a secret until you’re ready to be seen!)

How did you like today’s email?

Logo

Copyright (C) Want to change how you receive these emails?You can update your preferences or unsubscribe

Reply

or to participate.